About the County of Wellington

About the County of Wellington

Why live in Wellington County?

The County of Wellington has a vibrant economy with thriving agriculture, health care, manufacturing and creative professional industries.

The County spans almost 2,660 km2, has a population of approximately 86,000 and is comprised of seven municipalities including the Town of Erin, Town of Minto, Township of Wellington North, Township of Mapleton, Township of Centre Wellington, Township of Guelph/Eramosa and the Township of Puslinch. Its unique location within southwestern Ontario makes it the County with the most neighbouring municipalities in the province. The County is well positioned, only one hour from Toronto, two hours from the US border and has four top post secondary institutions within 30 minutes, making it a great place to live, learn, work and play.

Wellington offers winding trails, forests and conservations parks, year round festivals and events as well as intriguing museums and archives. From Hillside Music Festival to the Fergus Scottish Festival and Highland Games to self-guided farm tours and local food events, the County has the sights, sounds and tastes to please every sense.

The County of Wellington has a strong economic development focus aimed at supporting, building and facilitating the connection of resources, contacts and supply chain opportunities. The County has made a commitment to economic development with the creation of the Economic Development Strategic Plan, which works to support and increase economic activity within the County of Wellington.